Prayer, Worship 1

St. Anselm’s Prayer

Original Text:

O Lord my God,

Teach my heart this day where and how to see you,

Where and how to find you.

You have made me and remade me,

And you have bestowed on me

All the good things I possess,

And still I do not know you.

I have not yet done that

For which I was made.

Teach me to seek you,

For I cannot seek you

Unless you teach me,

Or find you

Unless you show yourself to me.

Let me seek you in my desire,

Let me desire you in my seeking.

Let me find you by loving you,

Let me love you when I find you.

~ St. Anselm

Personal Interpretation:

Dear Lord,

Please show me where you are today. Show me what You look like and what You like to do.

 

You created me, every part of me;  everything I enjoy about life is really a gift from You.

But I don’t know You; I don’t know why You’ve blessed me so much.

I haven’t done anything important yet. I haven’t found the work I’m supposed to do for the rest of my life.

 

Show me how to approach You because I don’t even know where to start.

I can only come if You show me how.

 

Can you show me how to follow?

Can I follow You until You show me?

 

I want to follow You so that I know how to love You.

I want to love You by following You.

 

~ jewel

One thought on “St. Anselm’s Prayer

  1. Pingback: St. Anselm of Canterbury | Earthpages.ca

Leave a Reply

